D.I.Y (I try to make things) · Favourites · Taking Care Of Yourself · Uncategorized

DIY Leave-In Conditioner

Packing as much moisture into my hair as I can is vital for me. I have curly hair, which means my hair isn’t getting moisturized naturally all the way down the shaft (it’s to do with the shape of it. The oils flow down our hair, nourishing it. It’s better for straight-haired people because it’s easier for the oil to travel down the shaft, however, with curly/wavy hair the path isn’t really the straight and narrow (see what I did there?) so it’s harder for the oils to get down to our ends). In the shower I use Shampoo, Conditioner (which I leave in for a minute or so, however long it takes for me to wash my face) and then a hair mask (which I leave in for however long it takes for me to wash my body and shave my legs). Out of the shower, I apply a leave-in conditioner and then a hair oil.

I’ve begun to search for ways to make some of my own products (I really only stay bath things) and thought I could make my own leave-in conditioner. Turns out, I really could.

And it’s flippin’ amazing!

(Recipe taken from here: http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2015/06/homemade-leave-in-moisturizing-conditioner.html)

 

Homemade Leave-In Moisturizing Conditioner

THE THINGS THAT YOU SHALL REQUIRE TO MAKE THE NICE THING:

  • conditioner
  • water
  • 1 teaspoon carrier oil (almond, jojoba, olive or fractionated coconut)
  • 5-6 drops favorite essential oil

HOW TO MAKE THE NICE THING:

Add 1 part of your favorite conditioner and 3 parts distilled water to a spray bottle. You can adjust the amount of water depending on your type of hair. If your hair is fine, use more water, but if your hair is thick and coarse, use less water.

Add 1 tsp carrier oil (almond, jojoba, olive, coconut are all good choices, I used Grapeseed because my hair ADORES it) and 5-6 drops essential oil. I love lavender not only because of the smell, but because it promotes strong, health hair growth. (I’m trying to grow my hair out)

Shake the bottle well to thoroughly mix the ingredients together.

 

I use this after washing my hair, and before brushing my hair in the morning. MY HAIR IS SO SOFT AND NICE-SMELLING!

 

“The noblest pleasure is the joy of understanding” 

Leonardo da Vinci

 

See ya next post,

Ellie 🙂

Leave a Reply

