Beauty/Lifestyle · Uncategorized

A Festive Makeup Look

Merry Christmas all ❤

Since it is that time of year, and I’ve seen a lot of posts of people’s makeup routines for the festive period doing the blogging-rounds, I figured I’d let you in on what I’m doing this year. It’s not too dissimilar from what I normally do day-to-day, but I added some eye-shadow and lipstick. So, without further ado, this is what I shall be wearing. Yay.

 

Primer:

Lacura Face Primer 3 in 1 SPF 15

SPF, mainly because Christmas in the Southern Hemisphere is Summer. This primes, smoothes fine lines and moisturises without feeling oily/greasy on your skin. It helps me mainly because I don’t wear liquid foundation, so I need something that my powder will stick to and last all day. I wait a few minutes before applying anything else so it has time to sink into my skin but not entirely (usually the time is spent making a coffee). (C/F)

 

Concealer:

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer

I bought this because literally every beauty blogger was raving about this being the best drugstore concealer. And this certainly lives up to its name! It covers up even the darkest of dark circles, blemishes and red patches. I buff this in under my eyes, on & around my nose and wherever I have blemishes. (Not C/F)

 

Powder:

Starlet Pressed Powder

This was about 6 dollars, and it certainly isn’t the best drugstore powder (in my opinion, Australis do the best cruelty-free pressed powder) but it’s good enough for the price. It’s the powder I end up chucking in my bag with a large powder brush whenever I go out. It isn’t chalky or cakey, and adds a nice glow to my skin. (Unknown)

 

Eye Shadow:

Maybelline The Nudes Palette

I usually use one colour to go over the entire lid and leave it at that. My favourite colour out of the entire palette is the shimmery gold 3 in from the left hand side on the bottom row. It doesn’t have the best pigment, but it’s very subtle (which I kind of want) and definitely not chalky or clumpy. It does have some fallout, but I usually brush that away with a sweep of powder. (Not C/F)

 

Mascara: 

Rimmel Scandaleyes Lycra Flex Mascara

This. Is. The. Best. Drugstore. Mascara. EVER. It really does annoy me that Rimmel isn’t cruelty-free, but if that doesn’t bother you, then definitely go pick it up. It doesn’t clump on the wand or on my eyelashes and it gives big (almost false-lash) lashes. (Not C/F)

 

Lipstick:

Rimmel Lasting Finish in 170 Alarm

It’s my staple red.

Yet again, it annoys me that Rimmel isn’t cruelty-free mainly because I am one of those people that can only wear 1 type of lipstick. I have sensitive lips that don’t react well with most lipsticks and within minutes my lips are so dry that I have to wipe the lipstick off and slather on a thick lip balm. I can wear this lipstick all day and I wont have any trouble with re-applying or dryness. It’s just great. They have a wide range of colours, so I suggest you check them out. (Not C/F)

 

Wishing everyone a very merry and safe Christmas ❤

You guys are the best, and I’m so glad to have spent 2016 in this wonderful community. I hope that 2017 is even greater.

 

“Whether I’m wearing lots of makeup or no makeup, I’m still the same person inside.”

Lady Gaga

 

See ya next post,

A Very Merry Ellie 🙂

Leave a Reply

